fbpx

Denon AVR-4500h Review

The Denon AVR-x4500h is the updated AVR-x4400h model for 2019. This Denon AVR-4500h review is a unit I bought and wasn’t supplied to me. It’s available online on Amazon in the US but doesn’t seem to be available online in the UK at this time.

Denon AVR-4500h Review
Denon AVR-x4500h Review

20 years with Denon and competitor models

I have always loved the Denon sound signature. I bought my first Denon amp second hand about 20 years ago which powered a huge floor standing tower set of what I seem to remember were Energy speakers. It was a big sound for a small amp.

Flash forward 20 years and I bought a newer Denon Amp, model number DRA-37, when living in Vancouver from Future Shop on Granville St (shut down in favour of Best Buy). It’s a basic stereo amp with FM capabilities. Only 50w per channel but it’s simply delicious to listen too.

Sadly, it’s only good for stereo and everyone loves a good movie so I also bought a Yamaha RV-371 amp for home theatre a few years later.

The RX-371 got a 5-star review from What HiFi and it certainly did a good job of filling our Yaletown apartment with a couple of newer Energy CF-50 Connoisseur Tower speakers and centre/surrounds. This was then updated to a Yamaha RV-481 5.1 speaker set as I blew up the RX-371 moving to a 240v country with a faulty step-down transformer. #sad 🤦

It’s a basic stereo amp with FM capabilities. Only 50w per channel but it’s simply delicious to listen too. Sadly, it’s only good for stereo and everyone loves a good movie so I also bought a Yamaha RV-371 amp for home theatre a few years later.

The RX-371 got a 5-star review from What HiFi and it certainly did a good job of filling our Yaletown apartment with a couple of newer Energy CF-50 Connoisseur Tower speakers and centre/surrounds. This was then updated to a Yamaha RV-481 5.1 speaker set as I blew up the RX-371 moving to a 240v country with a faulty step-down transformer. #sad 🤦

Sorry – this is taking a while to get to the Denon AVR-4500h but bear with me. I feel it’s important to establish my historical listening hardware to understand my perspective on the AVR-4500h.

Get on with it…

With the RX-481 I updated my speakers to Concept 40s from Q Acoustics. I got the centre speaker and a couple of Q Acoustic 3020’s for surrounds. All in all, it sounded great but Concept 40’s just didn’t seem to perform as they did in the HiFi store I bought them from. The DRA-37 sounded amazing with them, so for such an old amp, I thought that if I could get that quality for home theatre as well, then I would be #winning.

New Denon Home Theatre amps announced.

In late 2018 Denon announced that it was going to update the AVR-4400h and AVR-3400h Home theatre amps with the AVR-4500h and AVR-3500h.

Denon AVR-4500h

Choosing between the AVR-3500h vs AVR-4400h

Sometimes a decision comes down to price vs features. The previous years model, the Denon AVR-4400h was discounted significantly when the AVR-4500h was released. This put it only slightly above the new model Denon AVR-3500h. A better-featured model for slightly less than a newer, less-featured, model.

As the features of the AVR-4400h and AVR-4500h were not significantly different it seemed that getting the AVR-4400h was a better choice than the AVR-3500h. So, that made it an easy decision. After ordering it turned out the supplier had run out of AVR-4400h so they upgraded me to the AVR-4500h – I know – so good.

You were probably wondering where I was going with this considering I’d decided to buy the AVR-4400h, but there it is 🙂

Denon AVR-x4500h Specs

NameDenon AVR-x4500h
Channels9.2 (11.2 with external amp)
Watts125 watts per channel
Ohms8 ohms
Harmonic DistortionTHD 0.05%
Frequency Response20Hz~20kHz
Passthrough4K UDH Video scaling
Surround Sound FormatsIMAX Enhanced, Dolby Atmos, DTS:X and Auro-3D
HDMI8 in – 3 out
ProcessingDolby Vision, HDR10, HLG and HDCP 2.2 (all ports)
Streaming MusicPandora®, Spotify®, Amazon Prime Music, iHeartRadio, SiriusXM, Soundcloud®, Tidal, Napster or Deezer, Airplay 2
ProprietaryHEOS
Smart Device CompatiblityGoogle Home, Amazon Alexa, Siri, Josh.ai
Remote monitoringihiji Invision / Domotz Pro
Video4K Ultra HD 60Hz video, 4:4:4 Pure Color sub-sampling, eARC, 21:9 video, 3D and BT.2020 passthrough
Room Measurement SystemAudyssey MultEQ XT32
DAC32-bit AKM AK4458VN D/A (all channels)
DSPSHARC DSP Processors

So. How does the Denon AVR-4500h sound?

Warm. Big. Powerful. Detailed.

The sound stage is wonderful. It’s wide and the separation in instrumentation is really lovely. They power the Concept 40s with ease and when combined with the Concept 40 center speaker and surrounds it is immense and enveloping.

I bought some cheaper surround sound speakers and as a test, I used the Q Acoustic 3020’s as the Dolby uprising speakers for Dolby Atmos. Yes – it looked ridiculous (and a touch dangerous) having the 3020’s sitting on top of the Concept 40s but I’m new to Atmos and didn’t want to spend money on the speakers and find out they were lame.

Update Sept 2019

I have been playing a lot with the manual configuration of sound and set up over the last few month. I think it’s easy to say that I probably messed it up the more I tweaked.

When I first set it up I was also trialling a test upfiring Dolby Atmos speakers which I removed and failed to correctly reset the amp to 5.1

So after re-running Audyssey the results have really upped the sound quality and power from the 4500h. I am really impressed with the lift in power and sound quality with the recalibration via Audessy and I’ve certainly become even more impressed with this amp.

Using Q Acoustic 3020 Bookshelf speakers for Dolby Atmos Upfiring Speakers.

Dolby Atmos and 5.1 Sound performance

It is the closest I have come to being in a cinema in my living room. It puts sound into every corner of the room. When watching Triple Frontier (Dobly Atmos version) my wife, who was trying to read on the couch next to me, looked up as she thought the rain on the movie was rain on our roof. That is a big tick for getting proper up-firing speakers that fit on top of my floor standing concept 40s. [note to self: start a savings plan for up-firing atmos speakers].

Update: July 2019 – see our recent post on Dolby Atmos up-firing height speaker options.

My home theatre set up is:

This is all paired with:

  • Samsung 4K TV
  • Apple TV 4K

My living room is approximately 4 meters wide and 6 meters deep and has one open end to the left of the HiFi and TV.

I am able to run the system loud without feeling it’s hurting or damaging. Explosions are deep even pushing the crossover to a point the floor standing Concept 40s take the weight. I have the front, centre, rear speakers all set to SMALL to make the Amp push the bass frequencies to the Subwoofer and leave the amps to run the rest of the speakers. Using a DB meter results in low results despite how huge the sound is.

Denon’s amazing Warm sound signature

I will definitely say the sound signature is warm. Not as clinical as the Yamaha amps I had been used too, and perhaps even warmer than the DRA-37. In truth, this results in a more natural sound.

Personally, I like sibilance and treble in my audio sound signatures but I have come to like the AVR-4500h as for long listening and watching periods I don’t get at all fatigued. It has really opened up a new soundscape to me. Voices are clear and strong, the bass is deep but it never makes anything muddy or blends in – all the sound frequencies and more specifically the instrumentation and effects are well separated. It definitely makes the Amp perfect for what it’s built for.

A really enjoyable experience.

Denon Listening modes – AUTO, Direct and Pure Direct

I set the sound processing for AUTO for movies and Pure for listening to stereo audio.

The Auto feature for video will automatically select the right output based on the input – whether it be atmos, DTS:x, 5.1 or 2.1 etc. You can manually select Dolby Surround which will attempt to upscale

AVR-x4400h vs AVR-x4500h – just the differences

Denon AVRX4400H 9.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD Network AV Receiver with HEOS, Black
Denon AVR-X4500H Receiver 8 HDMI in /3 Out, High Power 9.2 Channel Amplifier (125 W/Ch) | Home Theater | Dolby Surround Sound, Music Streaming with Alexa + HEOS | Audyssey MultEQ Advanced Calibration
Name
Denon AVRX4400H 9.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD Network AV Receiver with HEOS, Black
Denon AVR-X4500H Receiver 8 HDMI in /3 Out, High Power 9.2 Channel Amplifier (125 W/Ch) | Home Theater | Dolby Surround Sound, Music Streaming with Alexa + HEOS | Audyssey MultEQ Advanced Calibration
Channels
9.2
9.2
Price
$1,139.99
$1,399.00
Prime Available
Audio-only Inputs
1
2
Width
17-3/16
17-1/8
Height
6-9/16
6-9/16
Depth
16-1/8
16-1/16
Weight
30.1
30.2
Front Inputs
HDMI, USB, Composite, L/R Audio
HDMI, USB
IMAX Enhanced
Bass Sync
Denon AVRX4400H 9.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD Network AV Receiver with HEOS, Black
Name
Denon AVRX4400H 9.2 Channel Full 4K Ultra HD Network AV Receiver with HEOS, Black
Channels
9.2
Price
$1,139.99
Prime Available
Audio-only Inputs
1
Width
17-3/16
Height
6-9/16
Depth
16-1/8
Weight
30.1
Front Inputs
HDMI, USB, Composite, L/R Audio
IMAX Enhanced
Bass Sync
Denon AVR-X4500H Receiver 8 HDMI in /3 Out, High Power 9.2 Channel Amplifier (125 W/Ch) | Home Theater | Dolby Surround Sound, Music Streaming with Alexa + HEOS | Audyssey MultEQ Advanced Calibration
Name
Denon AVR-X4500H Receiver 8 HDMI in /3 Out, High Power 9.2 Channel Amplifier (125 W/Ch) | Home Theater | Dolby Surround Sound, Music Streaming with Alexa + HEOS | Audyssey MultEQ Advanced Calibration
Channels
9.2
Price
$1,399.00
Prime Available
Audio-only Inputs
2
Width
17-1/8
Height
6-9/16
Depth
16-1/16
Weight
30.2
Front Inputs
HDMI, USB
IMAX Enhanced
Bass Sync

Issues with the Denon AVR-4500h

Everything has worked as expected. If you don’t want to tweak anything then it’s easy. After Audessy set up it runs on its own.

But with Spotify on the 4500h… (Update: and Airplay)

There is one quirk when playing music using Spotify connect. That is that the Amp seems to turn itself off and on after about 3-5 minutes, sometimes longer.

The auto time off is not enabled and it only happens with Spotify connect. Not sure if it happens with Pure and auto modes but I believe so. It’s not a deal-breaker but just a note.

UPDATE: July 2019

This issue with Spotify seems to have stopped. I’m really not convinced it was the Denon at all and possibly some other issue.

Would I change anything about the AVR-4500h?

If I was going to change anything I would remove the labelled inputs and remote buttons. The inputs at the back and the buttons on the remote all have pre-labelled names. e.g. DVR / CD / Phono etc. I would prefer just naming them Input 1, Input 2 etc like you would on a TV.

Everything else is just great. It’s such a solid performer.

Conclusion for Denon AVR-4500h Review

The Denon AVR-4500h is a powerhouse of a unit. It’s got loads of wattage and force that can present the most delicate Cello beautifully, through to the deep explosions of a John Wick block blockbuster.

It has features and technology future-proofing that make it a quite leading edge in the world of typical home theatre setups. It can power 2 extra zones, includes HEOS/Spotify, works with smart homes (Alexa & Google), is 9.1 strong and includes Atmos, DTS:X, Aura ready etc.

It also comes firmware updatable for future improvements.

I’d highly recommend this amp to anyone who has a love of HiFi, home theatre and stereo listening; with a little bit of modern tech thrown in as a passion. It runs a little hot but it’s coming into Winter here so any extra lounge room heating is a plus.

Check the latest pricing & more reviews here: https://amzn.to/2UwYPrW


Denon AVR-4500h Home Theatre Amp

9.3

Features

9.0/10

Sound

9.0/10

Value for Money

9.0/10

Build Quality

10.0/10

What we like (Pros)

  • Future proofed (as much as possible)
  • Powerful, big sound
  • Pre-out options
  • 9.2 channels of good movie times
  • Audessy (better than YPAO IMO)

What we like less (Cons)

  • Inputs have fixed names on remote and back of amp.

Last update on 2019-10-18 / Some images from Amazon Product API & some links may be affiliate links

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share thiswith a friend.

Keep up to date with deals, news and tech drops.

Your personal information is yours. You can unsubscribe at any time. We'll only send you updates that are worth it.

While we try to stay up to date, we can't always guarantee the timing, pricing, quantities and accuracy of the information that is subject to change. Make Life Click may earn a commission from links in this article, including from Amazon. If we do it usually goes towards coffee.

Recent Posts...

iOS 13 – Apple continues to play catch-up

By Mark | October 8, 2019
Apple iOS 13 Release

With the release of iOS 13 it seems clear that Apple needs something more exciting for customers. Apple has released iOS 13. It’s flagship feature being […]

Read More

Smart Home Solutions

By Mark | October 3, 2019
Smart Home Solutions

The most important first decision you will make when choosing your smart home solution Want a smart home? If you’ve finally decided to start dipping your […]

Read More
Scroll to Top